The EB-4 visa was initially reserved for certain religious workers. U.S. Congress has created several additional visas for various groups over the last twenty years to allow certain classes of people to enter the United States and obtain permanent residency. Those visas have been placed in the EB-4 category. As this is a “catch-all” category, each type of visa is distinctly different from the other.

You may be eligible for an employment-based, fourth preference visa if you are a special immigrant according to one of the following:

  • Religious Workers;
  • Special Immigrant Juveniles;
  • Broadcasters;
  • G-4 International Organization or NATO-6 Employees and Their Family Members;
  • International Employees of the U.S. Government Abroad;
  • Armed Forces Members;
  • Panama Canal Zone Employees;
  • Certain Physicians;
  • Afghan and Iraqi Translators;
  • Afghan and Iraqi Nationals Who Have Provided Faith Service in Support of U.S. Operations.

There is a statutory numerical limit (or “cap”) of 5,000 workers who may be issued a special immigrant non-minister religious worker visa during each fiscal year. There is no cap for special immigrant religious workers entering the U.S. solely for the purpose of carrying on the vocation of a minister.

Dependents: some classifications allow derivative beneficiaries. Spouses and children, unmarried under the age of 21 of EB-4 status holders may also be admitted to the United States for permanent residence.